Abbildung des Gebäudes

the online magazine by bauhaus.de

most recent
Bauhaus in autumun Bauhaus in autumun
Photo of the month

Maria Strakosch-Giesler, plough soil with two yellow houses (autumn landscape), 1902-1912

visit our photo collection
videos
swiping swiping swiping swiping swiping
bauhaus swiping

Otti Berger

Pioneering textile artist

Otti Berger (4 Oct. 1898 1 Jul. 1944) was almost 30 years old when she transferred to the Bauhaus in Dessau from the Zagreb School of Arts and Crafts in 1927. As a graduate of the weaving workshop, she was chosen to head the workshop following Gunta Stölzl’s departure in the winter semester 1931/32. In 1932, the designer opened her own studio in Berlin which was quite popular among textile companies. As a Jew, the Nazis forbid her to continue working in Germany in 1936. She tried to emigrate to the United States, where she hoped to find employment at the New Bauhaus in Chicago but was denied an entry visa. She and her family were arrested in Croatia, deported and murdered in Auschwitz in 1944.

 

 

Tapestry

A special birthday gift

What would you have liked as a going-away gift? The Bauhaus master Johannes Itten received this tapestry when he left the Bauhaus in 1923. It was designed by Max Peiffer Watenpuhl in the year 1921. Itten donated the piece to the Bauhaus-Archiv in Berlin at its opening in 1961.

Oskar Schlemmer

Creator of the Triadic Ballet

The painter Oskar Schlemmer (4 Sept. 1888 13 Apr. 1943) began as a Bauhaus master in Weimar in 1921 where he was involved in the mural painting, sculpture and metal workshops and, perhaps most notably, the theatre department. Even before his time at the Bauhaus, he had gained acclaim for characters he had created for the Triadic Ballet. Schlemmer was especially interested in the interplay of the human body and space. He developed the Bauhaus Dances and, as director of the Bauhaus Stage, toured through Germany from 1928 to 1929.

 

Ear jewellery for the Metallic Party

Bauhaus in Dessau on 9 Feb. 1929

An earring as a technoid mobile: Marianne Brandt, student of the metal workshop, created this delicate piece of jewellery and wore it to the Metallic Party in 1929. Participants were encouraged to wear tinkling bells and rustling metallic foils to experience the material with their various senses – visually, haptically and acoustically.

 

Gertrud Grunow

First woman in the Bauhaus teaching staff

The native Berliner Gertrud Grunow (8 Jul. 1870 11 Jun. 1944) was trained as a singer and singing instructor before she opened her own school for singing at the age of 28. Influenced by Emile Jaques-Dalcroze’s Rhythmic Gymnastics, Grunow developed her own approach to mastering musical skills. She came to the Bauhaus in 1919 through Johannes Itten. There she remained until 1923, teaching Harmonisation Theory which was based on the premise that one’s perception of sound, colour and movement were interconnected.

 

 

Wardrobe on wheels

Square, practical, modern

Presumably presented for the first time in 1930 on a touring exhibition of the Bauhaus, the wardrobe on wheels embodied the modern lifestyle of a young and mobile generation. This piece of furniture was practical, moveable and space-saving, making it ideally suited for any compact-sized apartment.

Johannes Itten

Inventor of the preliminary Bauhaus course

The Swiss painter and art instructor Johannes Itten (1. Nov. 1888 25 Mar. 1967) came to Weimar to teach at the newly founded Bauhaus in 1919 and strongly influenced the school in its initial phase. He developed his own colour theory and introduced the preliminary course which all students were required to complete at the beginning of their studies. Itten was a follower of the Mazdaznan doctrine which he propagated at the Bauhaus until his departure in 1923.

 

 

 

Lilly Reich

Head of the weaving workshop

After receiving training in crank embroidery in Berlin, Lilly Reich (16 Jun. 1885 14 Dec. 1947) went to work for Josef Hoffmann at his Viennese workshop. Returning to Berlin, she joined the Werkbund and operated her own studio for interior design, furniture and fashion. In 1923, she began working closely with Ludwig Mies van der Rohe on several projects including the Barcelona pavilion. In 1932, Mies van der Rohe recruited her to teach at the Bauhaus, where she headed the carpentry and weaving workshops until the school closed in 1933.

 

 

Balance study

In limbo

In László Moholy-Nagy’s preliminary course, students experimented with various materials. This delicately fashioned work explores the theme of balance. It rests on a small base and exudes both static and compositional equilibrium. The work dates back to 1924.

Marcel Breuer

Inventor of the tubular-steel chair

The Hungarian born Marcel Breuer (21 May 1902 – 1 Jul. 1981) studied at the Bauhaus from 1920 to 1924 in the carpentry workshop. In 1925 he was chosen to head the workshop as a so-called “junior master”. That same year, he designed the first tubular steel chair for residential use. Breuer eventually became one of the most influential furniture designers at the Bauhaus and possibly of the 20th century. After the Bauhaus, he worked at various design studios and architectural offices, first in Berlin, then London and later in the USA where he regularly collaborated with Walter Gropius.

 

 

Light prop for an electric stage

Light and shadow

The Light prop for an electric stage consists of several swivelling and spinning metal discs and rods. It was designed by László Moholy-Nagy in 1930 and manufactured by Woodie G. Flowers. Thanks to its reflective and transparent materials, its movement creates shadow and light play which forges a relationship between the stage and the viewers. In this photo, however, the stationary apparatus is the sole protagonist.

Gunta Stölzl

Head of the weaving workshop

Gunta Stölzl (5 Mar. 1897 23 Apr. 1983) attended the Munich School of Art and Crafts before enrolling at the newly founded Bauhaus in Weimar in 1919. She received training in several departments, including the weaving workshop where she started teaching in 1925 as a master of crafts, and in 1927, as head of the workshop. In 1931 she founded her own hand-weaving workshop in Switzerland. Stölzl developed her own innovative design language in the textile arts. She is credited with producing pioneering fabrics and carpets at the Bauhaus and beyond.

 

 

Herbert Bayer

Head of the printing and advertising workshop

The Austrian born Herbert Bayer (5 Apr. 1900 30 Sep. 1985) arrived at the Bauhaus in 1921 where he studied mural painting. In 1925, he was appointed junior master in Dessau where he headed the newly founded printing and advertising workshop for several years. Bayer’s graphic works strongly influenced the public image of the Bauhaus. For example, he was one of the first to incorporate photography into graphic design. Bayer worked as a commercial artist and exhibition designer in Europe and the United States, where he emigrated in 1938.

 

 

Tea infuser pot MT 49

A Bauhaus classic

The tea infuser pot MT 49 / Me 8 was designed in 1924 by Marianne Brandt in the metal workshop. Bronze, silver and brass versions of the same design were produced as well – testimony to the artist’s perseverance in her search for the perfect material. Today the tea pot is a unique museum piece, and replicas are expensive luxury items.

Anni Albers

World-famous for her weaving skills

The Berliner Anneliese Fleischmann (12 Jun. 1899 9 May 1994) went on to have an international career. The 23-year-old student enrolled at the Bauhaus in 1922. Together with her colleague and husband Josef Albers, she moved into one of the Master’s Houses in Dessau and earned her Bauhaus diploma upon completing her studies in 1930. In 1933, she emigrated to the USA to work at Black Mountain College, where she worked as a lecturer and created mostly abstract designs and artfully crafted tapestries. In 1949, she was the first female textile designer ever to have her works displayed at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, and in 1965 she published her book On Weaving. She was the last surviving Bauhaus master when she died in 1994.

 

 

 

Walter Gropius

Founder and first director of the Bauhaus

The architect Walter Gropius (18 May 1883 5 Jul. 1969) wasn’t even 40 years old when he founded the Bauhaus in Weimar in 1919 and became its first director. In the years prior, he had worked under Peter Behrens in Berlin and managed his own architectural office. After 1928, he devoted himself fully to his architectural pursuits in Berlin, and later in London and the United States, where he held a professorship at Harvard University. Thanks to his numerous lectures and exhibitions, he succeeded in keeping the Bauhaus legacy and its reception alive. Gropius’s most famous buildings include the Fagus Factory in Alfeld, the Bauhaus buildings in Dessau and the Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung in Berlin.

 

Bauhaus wallpaper design

Red with circles

Wallpaper designs were among the Bauhaus’ best-selling products. Consumers did not immediately take to the geometric patterns, however, but soon they discovered their benefits. For example, no longer did the edges have to align, and the quiet patterns and colours helped to conceal uneven wall surfaces. The wallpaper was designed by Hermann Fischer and dates from 1924.

Lucia Moholy

Her photography shaped the Bauhaus image

Born in Prague as Lucia Schulz (18 Jan. 1894 17 May 1989), this future Bauhaus photographer began her professional life as an editor, critic and author. She met her future husband László Moholy-Nagy in Berlin and joined him at the Bauhaus in Weimar in 1923. After completing her studies in photography, Lucia Moholy soon became the most important Bauhaus photographer whose pictures significantly shaped the public image of the school. In 1933, she emigrated to Great Britain where she initially tried to continue her photography career, but eventually ended up in the library sector.

 

 

Mechanical stage model, reconstruction

The theatre machine

The Mechanical Stage Model was designed by Heinz Loew in 1927 and presents an innovative concept for a theatre without human actors. In this model, the focus is on the technology which sets cubes in motion, circles spinning and platforms sliding at the push of a button.

László Moholy-Nagy

Master of the metal workshop

In 1920, the 25-year-old Hungarian born László Moholy-Nagy (20 Jul. 1895 24 Nov. 1946) moved to Berlin where he quickly forged contacts with established artists and married the photographer Lucia Schulz. Starting in 1923, they spent five years together at the Bauhaus where he worked as a master of the metal workshop. His artistic works spanned numerous genres, including typography and sculpture, Painting, Photography, Film – as the title of his most famous book suggests – as well as stage design, writing and exhibition-making. He served as the director of the New Bauhaus in Chicago until his death in 1946.

 

 

Etel Mittag-Fodor

She captured everyday life at the Bauhaus

Etel Fodor (28 Dec. 1905 13 Aug. 2005) studied photography and commercial art in Vienna before enrolling at the Bauhaus in Dessau in 1928. There she trained in the advertising workshop and studied photography under Walter Peterhans. In 1930, she began working as a freelance photographer and commercial artist, occasionally returning to the Bauhaus as an intern with her former classmate and then husband Ernst Mittag. As a Jew and staunch communist, Mittag-Fodor resettled in Hungary with her husband. In 1938, the couple emigrated to South Africa where Mittag-Fodor continued working as a photographer and in later years, as a weaver.

 

 

Balance study

An experiment from the Bauhaus preliminary course in 1923

Light-coloured wooden elements hover above a darker wooden base in parallel formation, connected by a thin steel rod. The vertical and horizontal struts cast a shadow pattern. Johannes Zabel’s composition exudes simplicity and harmony. The design was inspired by the loosely formulated premise of the Bauhaus preliminary course that students experiment with various materials and explore their interaction with one another.

Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp

Jack-of-all-trades at the Bauhaus

Lou Berkenkamp (15 May 1901 11 Apr. 1976) started her studies at the Bauhaus in 1920 in various workshops, including the mural painting workshop where she was involved in painting the Sommerfeld House and where she met her future husband Hinnerk Scheper. They moved to Dessau in 1925 and worked on Schlemmer’s Bauhaus Stage. Scheper-Berkenkamp drew illustrations, painted, designed children’s books and regularly collaborated on projects with her husband. In the 1960s and 1970s, she was responsible for designing the colour scheme for the Berlin building projects by Walter Gropius, Otto Bartning and Hans Scharoun.

 

 

on site
meet the team

“So much more space for discovery, conversations and encounters!”

Astrid Bähr, organisational development and research at the Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung

show all
Podcast 

about bauhaus

Art scholar Adriana Kapsreiter in conversation with guests about the Bauhaus beyond the legends and clichés. New episodes every third Thursday of the month.

listen now
We need you
We need you We need you

What bugs you about the Bauhaus?

I agree to the terms and conditions.
Danke! Dein Beitrag ist wertvoll für uns. Schau dir an was andere zu diesem Thema denken:

Andere Antworten
Inspiration

Abbildung des Gebäudes

das online-magazin von bauhaus.de

Aktuelles
Bauhaus-Türme Bauhaus-Türme
Foto des Monats

Ima Breusing, Bewegungsstudie (Sprungturm und Springer), 1921-22

zur fotosammlung
Videos
swiping swiping swiping swiping swiping
bauhaus swiping

Otti Berger

Wegweisende Textilkünstlerin

Otti Berger (04.10.189801.07.1944) kam 1927 mit fast 30 Jahren von der Kunstgewerbeschule Zagreb ans Dessauer Bauhaus. Als Absolventin der Webereiwerkstatt leitete sie diese nach Gunta Stölzls Weggang unter Lilly Reich. 1932 eröffnete die Gestalterin ein eigenes, bei Textilfirmen beliebtes Atelier in Berlin. Nachdem ihr 1936 als Jüdin das Arbeiten in Deutschland verboten wurde, versuchte sie in die USA, ans New Bauhaus in Chicago, zu emigrieren. Berger erhielt jedoch keine Einreisegenehmigung. Sie wurde mit ihrer Familie in Kroatien festgenommen, deportiert und 1944 in Auschwitz ermordet.

 

 

Wandbehang

Ein besonderes Geburtstagsgeschenk

Was hätten Sie gern zum Abschied? Der Bauhaus-Meister Johannes Itten bekam diesen Wandteppich geschenkt, als er das Bauhaus 1923 verließ. Entworfen wurde er von Max Peiffer Watenphul im Jahr 1921. Itten wiederum überreichte den Behang dem Berliner Bauhaus-Archiv zu dessen Eröffnung 1961.

Oskar Schlemmer

Schöpfer des Triadischen Balletts

Der Maler Oskar Schlemmer (04.09.188813.04.1943) kam 1921 als Meister ans Bauhaus in Dessau und wirkte dort u.a. in der Wandmalerei-, der Bildhauerei- und der Metallwerkstatt sowie insbesondere der Bühnenabteilung. Schon vor seiner Zeit am Bauhaus hatte er die Figuren für das Triadische Ballett entworfen. Schlemmers besonderes Interesse galt dem menschlichen Körper im Raum. Er entwickelte die „Bauhaustänze“ und tourte von 1928 bis 1929 mit der von ihm geleiteten Bauhaus-Bühne durch Deutschland.

 

 

Ohrschmuck für das Metallische Fest

Bauhaus in Dessau am 09.02.1929

Ein Ohrring als technoides Mobile: Marianne Brandt, Schülerin der Metallwerkstatt, kreierte den zierlichen Schmuck und trug ihn 1929 zum „Metallischen Fest“. Dort sollten Glocken klingen und Metallfolien rascheln. Das Material konnte so über mehrere Sinne, neben dem reinen Anblick auch haptisch und akustisch, wahrgenommen werden.

 

Gertrud Grunow

Erste Frau im Lehrkörper des Bauhauses

Die gebürtige Berlinerin Gertrud Grunow (08.07.187011.06.1944) wurde als Sängerin und Gesangslehrerin ausgebildet und gründete mit nur 28 Jahren ihre eigene Gesangsschule. Beeinflusst von Emile Jaques-Dalcrozes „Rhythmischer Gymnastik“ entwickelte Grunow einen eigenen Zugang zur Vermittlung musikalischer Fertigkeiten. Über Johannes Itten kam sie 1919 ans Bauhaus in Weimar und unterrichtete dort bis 1923 Harmonisierungslehre, in der sie die Wahrnehmung von Klang, Farbe und Bewegung miteinander verband.

 

 

Schrank auf Rollen

Quadratisch, praktisch, modern

Wohl erstmals 1930 auf der Wanderausstellung des Bauhauses präsentiert, spiegelt der von Josef Pohl entworfene Schrank auf Rollen damalige Vorstellungen einer jungen und stets mobilen Generation wider: praktisch, beweglich und kompakt. So ist der Schrank platzsparend und ideal geeignet für eine knapp bemessene Wohnung. Er stammt aus der Ausbauwerkstatt des Bauhaus Dessau.

Johannes Itten

Entwickler des Bauhaus-Vorkurses

Der Schweizer Maler und Kunstpädagoge Johannes Itten (11.11.188825.03.1967) kam 1919 ans neu gegründete Bauhaus in Weimar und prägte dort die Schule in ihrer ersten Phase entscheidend. Er entwickelte u.a. eine eigene Farbenlehre und den Vorkurs als erste Ausbildungsstufe für alle Studierenden. Itten war Anhänger der Mazdaznan-Lehre, die er bis zu seinem Weggang 1923 auch am Bauhaus verbreitete.

 

 

 

Lilly Reich

Leiterin der Webereiwerkstatt

Nach einer Ausbildung als Kurbelstickerin in Berlin arbeitete Lilly Reich (16.06.188514.12.1947) für Josef Hoffmann in den Wiener Werkstätten. Zurück in Berlin trat sie dem Werkbund bei und betrieb ihr eigenes Atelier für Inneneinrichtung, Möbel und Mode. Ab 1926 arbeitete sie intensiv mit Ludwig Mies van der Rohe zusammen, u.a. für den Barcelona-Pavillon. Mies van der Rohe holte sie 1932 ans Bauhaus, wo Reich bis zur Schließung 1933 Leiterin der Ausbauwerkstatt und der Weberei war.

 

 

Gleichgewichtsstudie

In der Schwebe

In László Moholy-Nagys Vorkurs experimentierten die Studierenden mit verschiedenen Materialien. Die plastischen Werke, die sich dem Thema des Gleichgewichts widmeten, standen auf schmalem Fuß und balancierten zwischen statischer und kompositorischer Ausgewogenheit. Der oder die Künstler*in des Werkes ist unbekannt. Das Werk stammt aus dem Jahr 1924.

Marcel Breuer

Erfinder des Stahlrohrstuhls

Der in Ungarn geborene Marcel Breuer (21.05.190201.07.1981) studierte von 1920 bis 1924 am Bauhaus in der Tischlereiwerkstatt. 1925 wurde er als sogenannter Jungmeister deren Leiter. Im gleichen Jahr entwarf er den ersten Stahlrohrstuhl für den Wohnbedarf. Breuer wurde einer der wichtigsten Möbeldesigner des Bauhauses und des 20. Jahrhunderts überhaupt. Nach dem Bauhaus arbeitete er in verschiedenen Entwurfs- und Architekturbüros, zunächst in Berlin, dann in London und später in den USA, wo er mit Walter Gropius eine Bürogemeinschaft unterhielt.

 

 

Lichtrequisit einer elektrischen Bühne

Licht- und Schattenspiele

Das „Lichtrequisit einer elektrischen Bühne“ besteht aus mehreren sich drehenden und kreisenden Metallscheiben und -stäben. Das Requisit wurde 1930 von László Moholy-Nagy entworfen und von Woodie G. Flowers hergestellt. Durch ihre Bewegung erzeugen die reflektierenden und transparenten Materialien ein Schatten- und Lichtspiel, das den Raum und die Betrachter*innen einbindet. Auf diesem Foto wird die Rekonstruktion des stillstehenden Apparats allerdings zum alleinigen Protagonisten.

Gunta Stölzl

Leiterin der Webereiwerkstatt

Gunta Stölzl (05.03.189723.04.1983) besuchte die Kunstgewerbeschule München, bevor sie 1919 ans neu gegründete Bauhaus in Weimar kam. Sie wurde u.a. in der Weberei ausgebildet und unterrichtete dort ab 1925 als Werkmeisterin, ab 1926 war sie deren Leiterin. 1931 gründete sie ihre eigene Handwebereiwerkstatt in der Schweiz. Stölzl entwickelte eine neue Formensprache in der Textilkunst. Ihre Stoffe und Teppiche waren wegweisend, am Bauhaus und darüber hinaus.

 

 

Herbert Bayer

Leiter der Werkstatt für Druck und Reklame

Der gebürtige Österreicher Herbert Bayer (05.04.190030.09.1985) kam 1921 ans Bauhaus und studierte dort Wandmalerei. 1925 wurde er zum Jungmeister berufen und leitete für mehrere Jahre die neu gegründete Werkstatt für Druck und Reklame. Bayers grafische Arbeiten prägten die Außenwirkung des Bauhauses maßgeblich. Als einer der Ersten setzte er Fotografie in der Gestaltung ein. Bayer arbeitete als Werbegrafiker und Ausstellungsgestalter in Europa und den USA, wohin er 1938 emigrierte.

 

 

Tee-Extraktkännchen MT 49

Ein Bauhaus-Klassiker

Das Tee-Extraktkännchen „MT 49 / Me 8“ wurde 1924 von Marianne Brandt in der Metallwerkstatt entworfen. Es existiert u.a. in Bronze, Silber und Messing. Die diversen Materialausführungen zeugen von der Suche nach dem am besten geeigneten Material und von der Ausdauer der Künstlerin. Das Kännchen ist heute ein unikales Museumsobjekt – die Repliken teure Luxusobjekte.

Anni Albers

Weltberühmt für ihre Webarbeiten

Die Berlinerin Anneliese Fleischmann (12.06.189909.05.1994) machte international Karriere. Sie kam als 23-jährige Studentin 1922 ans Bauhaus. Gemeinsam mit ihrem Kollegen und Mann, Josef Albers, zog sie in Dessau in eines der Meisterhäuser und wurde dort nach dem Weggang von Gunta Stölzl Leiterin der Weberei. Im Jahr 1933 emigrierte sie in die USA ans Black Mountain College. Anni Albers kreierte überwiegend abstrakte Entwürfe und kunstvolle Wandbehänge, war als Dozentin tätig, stellte 1949 als erste Textilkünstlerin überhaupt im Museum of Modern Art in New York aus und publizierte 1965 ihr Buch „On Weaving“. Als sie 1994 starb, hatte sie alle anderen Bauhausmeister*innen überlebt.

 

 

 

Walter Gropius

Gründer und erster Direktor des Bauhauses

Noch keine 40 Jahre alt, gründete der Architekt Walter Gropius (18.05.188305.07.1969) 1919 das Bauhaus in Weimar und wurde dessen erster Direktor. Zuvor hatte er bei Peter Behrens in Berlin gearbeitet und sein eigenes Architekturbüro betrieben. Nach 1928 widmete er sich wieder ausschließlich seiner Tätigkeit als Architekt in Berlin, später in London und den USA, wo er an der Harvard University eine Professur innehatte. Durch zahlreiche Vorträge und Ausstellungen hielt er darüber hinaus die Bauhaus-Rezeption lebendig. Zu Gropius‘ bekanntesten Bauwerken gehören die Fagus-Werke in Alfeld, die Bauhaus-Gebäude in Dessau und das Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung in Berlin.

 

 

Entwurf für Bauhaustapete

Rot mit Kreisen

Mit den Tapeten gelang dem Bauhaus ein Verkaufsschlager. Zunächst stießen die geometrischen Muster auf Ablehnung, doch bald erkannten die Käufer*innen ihre Vorteile: Bei der Anbringung musste nicht mehr auf die Schnittkanten geachtet werden, ruhige Musterung und Farbgebung kaschierten Unebenheiten an der Wand. Dieser Entwurf geht auf Hermann Fischer zurück. Diese Tapete stammt aus dem Jahr 1924.

Lucia Moholy

Ihre Fotografien prägten das Bauhaus-Image

Als Lucia Schulz (18.01.189417.05.1989) in Prag geboren, war die spätere Bauhaus-Fotografin zuerst als Lektorin, Kritikerin und Schriftstellerin tätig. In Berlin lernte sie ihren späteren Ehemann László Moholy-Nagy kennen und ging 1923 mit ihm zusammen ans Weimarer Bauhaus. Nach einer Fotografie-Lehre wurde Lucia Moholy bald zur wichtigsten Fotografin des Bauhauses, deren Aufnahmen das Bild der Schule in der Öffentlichkeit prägten. 1933 emigrierte sie nach Großbritannien, wo sie zunächst versuchte, ihre Karriere als Fotografin fortzuführen, dann aber vor allem im Bibliothekswesen arbeitete.

 

 

Mechanisches Bühnenmodell, Rekonstruktion

Der Theater-Automat

Das von Heinz Loew im Jahr 1927 entworfene „Mechanische Bühnenmodell“ zeigt das neuartige Konzept eines Theaters ohne menschliche Darsteller*innen. Hier steht allein die Technik im Rampenlicht, die auf Knopfdruck vollautomatisiert ihre Würfel rotieren und Kreise drehen lässt und Kuben in Bewegung setzt.

László Moholy-Nagy

Meister der Metallwerkstatt

Als 25-Jähriger kam der gebürtige Ungar László Moholy-Nagy (20.07.189524.11.1946) 1920 nach Berlin, wo er rasch in Künstler*innenkreisen Fuß fasste und die Fotografin Lucia Schulz heiratete. Mit ihr zusammen verbrachte er ab 1923 fünf Jahre am Bauhaus, als Meister der Metallwerkstatt. Sein vielseitiges Schaffen reichte von Typografie und Skulptur, „Malerei, Fotografie, Film“ zugleich Titel seines bekanntesten Buchs – über Bühnengestaltung bis hin zur Betätigung als Autor und Ausstellungsmacher. Bis zu seinem Tod 1946 war er Direktor des New Bauhaus in Chicago.

 

 

Etel Mittag-Fodor

Hielt den Bauhaus-Alltag fest

Etel Fodor studierte (28.12.190513.08.2005) in Wien Fotografie und Gebrauchsgrafik und ging 1928 ans Bauhaus in Dessau. Dort lernte sie u.a. in der Reklamewerkstatt und bei Walter Peterhans in der Fotoklasse. Ab 1930 arbeitete sie als selbstständige Fotografin und Gebrauchsgrafikerin. Zwischenzeitlich kehrte sie – inzwischen mit ihrem früheren Kommilitonen Ernst Mittag verheiratet – als Hospitantin ans Bauhaus zurück. Als engagierte Kommunistin und Jüdin siedelte Mittag-Fodor mit ihrem Mann zunächst nach Ungarn über. 1938 emigrierte das Paar nach Südafrika, wo Mittag-Fodor weiter als Fotografin, später auch als Weberin tätig war.

 

 

Gleichgewichtsstudie

Ein Experiment des Vorkurses aus dem Jahr 1923

Helle Holzelemente schweben parallel über einem dunkleren Holzsockel, verbunden durch ein dünnes Stahlröhrchen. Die vertikalen und horizontalen Streben werfen ein Schattenmuster. Johannes Zabels Komposition strahlt Schlichtheit und Harmonie aus. Der Student näherte sich mit seinem Entwurf der offen formulierten Aufgabenstellung im Bauhaus-Vorkurs, laut der Studierende mit verschiedenen Materialien experimentieren und ihr Zusammenspiel erproben sollten.

Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp

Tausendsassa des Bauhauses

Lou Berkenkamp (15.05.190111.04.1976) studierte ab 1920 am Bauhaus u.a. in der Werkstatt für Wandmalerei, wo sie an der Ausmalung des Haus Sommerfeld beteiligt war und ihren späteren Ehemann Hinnerk Scheper kennenlernte. Mit ihm zog sie 1925 nach Dessau und wirkte an Schlemmers Bauhaus-Bühne mit. Scheper-Berkenkamp zeichnete und malte, entwarf Kinderbücher und arbeitete immer wieder eng mit ihrem Ehemann zusammen. In den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren übernahm sie die Farbgestaltung bei Berliner Bauprojekten von Walter Gropius, Otto Bartning und Hans Scharoun.

 

 

Mittendrin
Meet the team

„Gespannt bin ich auf den Glasturm, der noch mehr Raum und Möglichkeiten für Museumspädagogik bieten wird.”

Hülya Yagci, Mitarbeiterin in der Buchhaltung im Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung

Alle anzeigen
Podcast 

about bauhaus

Kunsthistorikerin Adriana Kapsreiter im Gespräch mit Gästen über das Bauhaus jenseits berühmter Mythen und Klischees. Jeden dritten Donnerstag im Monat neu.

anhören
we need you
we need you we need you

Was nervt Sie am Bauhaus?

Ich bin mit der Teilnahme einverstanden.
Danke! Dein Beitrag ist wertvoll für uns. Schau dir an was andere zu diesem Thema denken:

Andere Antworten
Inspiration